SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Forum > Sewing Techniques and Tips > Ballroom Gowns ( Moderated by MissCelie)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
Ballroom Gowns
Anyone make their own for competitions?
jvallee
jvallee
Intermediate
Member since 12/19/05
Send Message

thumbsup 1 member likes this.

Date: 2/28/06 8:26 AM

Just wondering if anyone else competes in ballroom dancing and makes their own dresses (smooth and/or latin)?

I have been sewing my own for several years and have learned a lot - like best way to apply rhinestones and especially what not to do

Would love to share designs and other ideas.

katynairn

katynairn
Intermediate
International AUSTRALIA
Member since 5/3/03
Send Message

In reply to jvallee

Date: 2/28/06 10:04 PM

I've sewn a few for medal exams. Places to check out for info and discussions include: dancesportimage.com and dance-forums.com

redhead
star
redhead
Advanced
Tennessee USA
Member since 10/18/03
Send Message

Date: 3/1/06 10:40 AM

I made a latin dress from black panne velvet with silver lame godets once. It was a good first effort I'd say.

AliceB
star
AliceB
Intermediate
Michigan USA
Member since 1/31/04
Send Message

Date: 3/2/06 5:15 PM

My DD dances competively in West Coast Swing where they all seem to wear plain black pants....b o r i n g. She loves costumes and we've talked about some latin which I could do the costuming for but she is still in college and just too busy to pursue another area right now. I'd love to see a thread with costume sewing ideas and techniques I could file away for when the day comes.
Alice

artzyval

artzyval
Intermediate
Indiana USA
Member since 1/27/06
Send Message

Date: 3/2/06 5:29 PM