SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Forum > Sewing Machines > Buying a new machine ( Moderated by Sharon1952, EleanorSews)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
Buying a new machine
carmakat
carmakat
Beginner
Georgia USA
Member since 8/16/03
Send Message

Date: 8/16/03 9:17 AM

I am very very new to sewing, but I have somehow managed to put together a quilt top on a 30+ year old Singer that my aunt gave to me.  For the most part it gave me nothing but trouble (I'm sure some of that is user error!) and now that I'm to the actual quilting point I think it would be wise to pursue a better machine.  The trouble is that there are only 2 venders in my area, one sells Bernina and the other Baby Lock.  I've found lots of reviews on Bernina, but only a few (all good, but from recent buyers) on the Baby Lock machines.  I've heard mostly really good things about Bernina, but the staff at this store was somewhat less than stellar, whereas at the Baby Lock store they were extremely helpful.  I'd be willing to buy another brand of machine online, but I'd have no way to test drive it first.  I'm looking to spend around $800 +/- on my machine and for that I seem to get more options (but less quality?) with the Baby Lock, or most any other brand besides Bernina.  One last thing, I tend to lean towards customer service (Baby Lock), but my husband is in the military, so we could very possibly be moving in as little as 9 months, so where ever we end up I want to have a good machine.
Basically I'm looking for some guidance on what machine to get.  Any help at all would be Greatly appreciated!  Thank you!  Micki

Gigi Louis
starstarstarstar
Gigi Louis
Advanced
Member since 4/4/02
Send Message

Date: 8/17/03 1:48 PM