SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Forum > Machine Embroidery > I'm buying a Bernina Artista 730 this week! ( Moderated by Pyrose)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
I'm buying a Bernina Artista 730 this week!
GinnyThePainter
GinnyThePainter
Intermediate
Arizona USA
Member since 1/12/05
Send Message

Date: 12/30/07 1:07 AM

If anyone has any objections, speak now or forever hold your peace. I researched off and on for a year and have finally decided (I think) to get the Artista 730 on New Year's Eve. With all the rebates, sales & specials, I'll be getting the machine & full suite of software for about $6100. It's a small fortune, but as an artist, I know I'll want maximum ability to design my own embroidery.

Not a lot of high end sewing machine dealers in my town, so it was between the Viking Designer SE & Bernina 730. What made the decision:

I liked the design of the machine better. I like the windows environment. It's quieter. My killer deal at Bernina was better than the killer deal offered at Viking. The dealer has been around for 30+ years. Other negatives against the viking and viking dealer: don't want no drop-in bobbins, and don't like a sewing machine store that's also a vacuum repair place.

Of the three Bernina dealers I visited, first turned me off because they didn't know much about embroidery or software. And they were located inside a busy fabric store. At the second shop, the ladies were bitchy about the fact that it was my third time looking at machines (in the space of a year) and I hadn't settled on one yet. It also didn't seem to be a very energetic shop - more sales-oriented than creativity-oriented.

Third shop was the winner. Lots of dynamic, exciting quilting and embroidery work being done around the store. Tons of classes available. And I learned more about the machine in ten minutes at this store than I did in three visits to the other store.