SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Forum > Beginner's Forum > How Often Do You Change The Needle? ( Moderated by EleanorSews)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
How Often Do You Change The Needle?
Question on Needle Changing
MilongueraThreads
star
MilongueraThreads
Intermediate
Texas USA
Member since 9/17/07
Send Message

Date: 3/24/08 11:29 AM

How often do you change the needle in your sewing machine?

I read somewhere that you're supposed to change the needle after every project, is this true?

PVA
star
PVA
Intermediate
Oregon USA
Member since 3/28/04
Send Message

In reply to MilongueraThreads

Date: 3/24/08 11:49 AM

Hi luckysweetheart, Yes that's the current wisdom. Actually, I think it's a pretty good policy. I've been sewing for many years & when I was a kid I know my Mom, sister's & I used the same needle from one year to the next. Not a good policy!

We pay *Mega-Bucks* for our sewing machines, fabric even on sale isn't exactly cheap & making sure the needle is at the top of it's game seems to make sense to me.

I usually buy various specialty needles when I have a coupon for 40-50% off which takes out some of the sting.

FWIW, I HTH Pat

------
PVA (Pat)  "A girl can't have too many scissors!"
If I don't have time to do it right, when will I have time to do it over?

Speech girl
starstar
Speech girl  Friend of PR
Intermediate
Georgia USA
Member since 5/11/03
online now
Send Message

Date: 3/24/08 12:20 PM

That's the conventional wisdom, although I've also heard after 8 hours of sewing (which may or may not be one project).