SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Forum > Sewing Machines > Singer Futura II 920 ( Moderated by Sharon1952, EleanorSews)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
Singer Futura II 920
Is this considered vintage and is it good for a new sewer?
SoSewSoSew
SoSewSoSew
Beginner
NY USA
Member since 11/2/09
Send Message

Date: 11/16/09 11:41 AM

Hello, my aunt recently gave me this s/m. It looks old, but I don't have any idea how old it really is. Searching online, another site suggested that it is a 1974 model. I took it immediately to a repair shop to get it tuned up, and he told me it would cost about $129 to get it greased and something about the motor needing work. He also told me I didn't have to get the motor worked on, and that that would cost me $20 less. He told me that this is a great machine and worth fixing.

I am a complete newbie to sewing. I'm excited about the fact that this s/m is from my aunt, that it's supposed to be good quality, and that I'm getting to use a s/m that is older than me and also not just junking it and buying something new and making more environmental waste.

But, I don' t know whether it is practical or not for a first time sewer to learn with this s/m.
I don't know how good of a quality this Singer is.
I don't know if it's worth $129 to get it tuned and fixed.

Can somebody please give me some advice?

Thanks very much!!!

SoSewSoSew
SoSewSoSew
Beginner
NY USA
Member since 11/2/09
Send Message

Date: 11/16/09 11:48 AM