SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Forum > Fabrics and more... > Cutting pattern on crossgrain ( Moderated by CynthiaSue)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
Cutting pattern on crossgrain
ekFitz
star
ekFitz
Advanced
Oregon USA
Member since 8/22/09
Send Message

Date: 12/4/09 10:40 PM

I bought some beautiful striped "kashmere" cotton flannel today. I didn't realize until just now that the stripes are along the crossgrain. I'm making S2543 for my mother and I need the stripes to go vertically. This would mean cutting the pattern pieces on the crossgrain, however, which I've never done before. Should I expect to have any issues or do you all think this should work? It's a pretty tightly woven flannel, so I'm thinking it should be fine, but I'd like some input before I actually cut it.

Thanks!
Erin

------
My sewing blog - www.gravamenofthestitch.com

kkkkaty
starstarstar
kkkkaty  Friend of PR
Intermediate
Utah USA
Member since 12/7/05
Send Message

In reply to ekFitz

Date: 12/4/09 10:44 PM

I did the same thing a while back, to my disgust, so I look forward to seeing what kind of answers you get!

------
Viking Lily 545
Viking Ruby
Bernina Activa 210
Brother 1034d

Nancy K
starstarstar
Nancy K
Advanced
New York USA
Member since 12/28/04
Send Message

In reply to ekFitz

Date: 12/4/09 10:57 PM

Go ahead and cut it on the cross grain, it's done all the time. You'll even need less yardage that way too. I have had fabrics that have stretch on the length wise grain and I've cut them on the cross grain so that the stretch goes around the body. Since this is cotton flannel make sure that you prewash it more than once. 3 Times is my choice.

------
www.nancyksews.blogspot.com

Janie Viers
star
Janie Viers  Friend of PR
Advanced
Ohio USA
Member since 4/8/02
Send Message

Date: 12/4/09 11:18 PM