SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Forum > Announcements > Member in Focus - Sew4Fun ( Moderated by Deepika, Lynnelle)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
Member in Focus - Sew4Fun
Deepika
starstarstarstar
Deepika  Friend of PR
Intermediate
MA
Member since 11/28/01
Founder
Send Message

Date: 2/19/10 3:42 PM

PR Name: Sew4Fun
Name: Belinda
Birthday: August 1966
Blog: sew-4-fun.blogspot.com
How did you learn to sew: As a child I watched as my mother sewed, taking it all in and helping when I could. In high school I took Home Economics where I had an excellent sewing teacher who taught me the basics. After this I am completely self-taught. I learn best through doing and, as I've sewn almost every day of my life, I've had a lot of practice.
What aspect of sewing do you find most challenging: Visualizing two-dimensional fabric as a three-dimensional garment, and how it will look on my body. Most of my wadders (aka failures) stem from falling in love with a fabric or pattern but forgetting to visualize it as a garment on my body. I've noticed when I consider the garment first I have a greater success rate. I'd like to change my thinking but it's hard when there are so many beautiful fabrics and patterns calling my name. Even more so as I love colour, prints and texture. I don't have the same love of clothes so fabric and patterns tend to come first and the clothes are an afterthought.
Which sewing book do you refer to most often: I don't own a lot of sewing books. While learning to sew in my twenties, my main reference book was a 1982 edition of Vogue Sewing. It still sits on my book shelf.
What are your sewing goals for this year: This year I've deliberately not set any goals. I want to relax and get back to enjoying my sewing. Enjoy the process and the end results, without any self-imposed expectations, goals, self-criticism or apologizes. Sewing should be fun.