SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Forum > Sewing Machines > Deciding between Brother Innovis 900D or 1250D? ( Moderated by Sharon1952, EleanorSews)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
Deciding between Brother Innovis 900D or 1250D?
Beginner needs advice on investment
Ohana Mom
Ohana Mom
Beginner
Ohio USA
Member since 3/21/10
Send Message

Date: 4/4/10 12:15 PM

Thank you all who posted recommendations on which machines to look at. I am a BEGINNER interested in a machine that sews, embroiders and potentially quilts. I currently own a Singer 6221 which is on it's last leg.
I attenedd the Cleveland Sew and Quilt Expo last weekend - it was WONDERFUL! I met with several dealers and now understand how important it is to find the right dealer. I went in thinking I wanted a Viking (as that's what my mother has) but was so put off by the dealer - not sure I would go that route.
The machine I liked the most was the Brother Innovis 1250D. As I am a beginner - I don't want to spend too much. They also had the 900D which seems adequate. The 1250 was about $1500 and the 900 was about $599.
Here's my question - I really like the larger hoop size of the 1250. But it's hard to justify $1,000 more just for a hoop size. Are there other significant features that are driving this price jump? I have checked the reviews here and both models seems to get high reviews. I was hoping to stay under $1,000 if possible - but also don't want to be sorry that I didn't purchase enough machine. At the same time - I'm still a beginner. I work full time so this will definately be hobby-related and don't want to buy more than I need.
Appreciate any advice.... (p.s. if there are other machines you think are a better fit - I am open to that too. I definately want a USB drive option)

dfsews

dfsews  Friend of PR
Intermediate
Nebraska USA
Member since 4/17/06
Send Message

Date: 4/4/10 6:07 PM