|
|
Message Board > Fabrics and more... > anyone familiar with bangkokthaisilk? ( Moderated by CynthiaSue)
eviladams7
Advanced WI Member since 3/2/09 Posts: 40 |
Login to reply to this post
Date: 4/9/10 4:23 PM Hi All,
I have been tempted to buy fabric from http://www.bangkokthaisilk.com/servlet/StoreFront
they also sell fabric on ebay too.
Im scared that the fabric will be really thin and limp, i prefer crispness and a little weight.
I have emailed them twice and have not gotten responses. i would just order from another company, but they seem to have alot of colors i cant find elsewhere...
Has anyone else on here ever ordered from them? Opinions? likes, dislikes?
thanks! |
SewVeryCreative
Advanced FL USA Member since 8/23/07 Posts: 2604 |
Login to reply to this post
Date: 4/9/10 4:41 PM Is all they have tafettas and dupes? No chiffons? Nothing drap-y-er?
I've never ordered from them (wish I could help!), but I do believe they're the ones that have advertised in Threads magazine for the past 10+ years. I could be wrong, though. ------ ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~
Connie in Panama City Beach, Florida :)
"And these children that you spit on, as they try to change their worlds, are immune to your consultations. They're quite aware of what they're going through" ~ David Bowie, "Changes"
http://www.imsewverycreative.blogspot.com |
LynnRowe

 Advanced BC CANADA Member since 3/9/09 Posts: 7008 |
Login to reply to this post
In reply to SewVeryCreative
Date: 4/9/10 10:07 PM I think you're thinking of Thai Silks, who advertise in Threads magazine. Thai Silks is a very good, sound, reliable supplier.  ------ I heart Panzy, Pfaff Creative Performance, the sewing machine love of my life! And Rupert (Pfaff 2023), Baby (BL Enlighten), Victor (BLCS), Ash (Bernina 350SE), Pal (Bernina 530), Kee (Bernina 750) and the Featherteen Flock!
Most of all, I heart Woo (HimmyCat). Until we meet again, my beautiful little boy. I love you. |
eviladams7
Advanced WI Member since 3/2/09 Posts: 40 |
Login to reply to this post
Date: 4/9/10 11:17 PM I am familiar with Thaisilk.com, and like them, but this is a different company...... |
sugarduck
Intermediate FRANCE Member since 2/7/10 Posts: 275 |
Login to reply to this post
In reply to eviladams7 <<
Date: 8/1/12 11:20 PM I was wondering if you ended up placing an order with this company and, if so, if you would recommend the site. They have a really good color selection of taffeta ginghams, which I've had trouble finding elsewhere.
If anyone knows anything about bangkokthaisilk.com, I'd really appreciate hearing about it. I've been wary about buying expensive fabrics online ever since a friend-of-a-friend never received the thai silk she ordered online to make her wedding dress. |
beauturbo
Advanced CA USA Member since 5/2/09 Posts: 1554 |
Login to reply to this post
In reply to eviladams7 <<
Date: 8/1/12 11:44 PM Maybe try: http://www.thaisilks.com/contact_us.php instead.
I have never ordered from them on-line so I don't know how they are about that,(on line stuff) but I do know they really exist, and have for a very long time, as I just really do walk into their real brick and motor store in person and buy stuff.
I like them for that, and their prices seem reasonable to me, (though some stuff is both nice and kind of expensive, but not just the regular Thai silk at all) and they always seem friendly and helpful to me. If you can't go in person, they have swatches I think they can send you, if you want to feel and touch first. They are pretty small too, in just square feet in the reall store, (not a big ware house or anything like that) so chances are one of the nice people in there, that I might talk to sometimes, iare probably even the ones that take and ships the internet orders. Or just telephone them, and ask them about all that stuff, so you know them before you buy. Also, notice their website gives a real street address for their real store, and a real telephone #, in case you need to call them, or find them later. I can verify that really is their real store front address. And i like going there to shop in person at least.
That other web site gives you no street address, and no telephone, so I don't know how you could ever even verify where they were or phone them if you had to, unless I'm just missing seeing something there. |
Printable Version* Advertising and soliciting is strictly prohibited on PatternReview.com. If you find a post which is not in agreement with our Terms and Conditions, please click on the Report Post button to report it. Fabrics and more... >> anyone familiar with bangkokthaisilk? Copyright © 2013 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved. Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
|
|