SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
 

Forum > Machine Embroidery > Top Thread looping occasionally ( Moderated by Pyrose)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
Top Thread looping occasionally
drdoct
drdoct
Beginner
Member since 12/15/09
Posts: 44
Send Message

      



Date: 11/30/10 11:36 AM

I've got an old Viking 950E and it really embroiders great. The only problem is that on satin stitching it will occasionally loop the top thread. At first I thought it was a tension issue but no matter the tension it still does it a few times on a name. I've tried changing the needles to new ones but not changing brands or type. I've been using Schmetz 75 embroidery needles. I use metro poly thread and a prewound bobbin. And it only loops on satin stitching. I haven't tried on Sulky Rayon yet to see if it does it too but just wanted to ask if there was something I could easily change or is it hit and miss?

aslinnd

aslinnd
Advanced Beginner
AUSTRALIA
Member since 5/28/07
Posts: 811
Send Message

      



Date: 11/30/10 2:58 PM

can you adjust the speed on that machine? it may need a bit of slowing down on the satin stiches

mssewcrazy
star
mssewcrazy  Friend of PR
Advanced
MS USA
Member since 3/4/03
Posts: 2547
Send Message

      



Date: 11/30/10 4:18 PM

A while back I got loops as well with a metro color-never had this before. I hope someone has an answer as I bought the large cone set. Lots say it works well for them so hopefully someone on here has a suggestion. I never experienced loopies before with arc, marathon,etc.-very annoying.

OBX
OBX
Advanced Beginner
NC USA
Member since 4/23/10
Posts: 183
Send Message

      



Date: 12/1/10 8:09 AM

It may help to use a thread net to stop it from coming off the cone so quickly. Sometimes a little drag on thread is helpful.

skippercharli
star
skippercharli
Intermediate
Member since 6/11/09
Posts: 28
Send Message

      



Date: 12/1/10 1:52 PM

Rayon thread might work better. The polyester is more stretchy and more likely to loop on satin stitches. I've had better luck with sulky rayon than polyester. If the design has been enlarged, that can also cause loopies. Using an 80/12 sharp instead of universal helps. Don't know if the sharps are different from the embroidery needles.

LouisaP
LouisaP
Intermediate
MN USA
Member since 2/27/07
Posts: 413
Send Message

      



Date: 12/1/10 9:46 PM

Odd solution to the loopies - and I swear, they just crop up occasionally to bug us!

I put the thread on a thread stand to the right of my machine (Janome 350e), and run it through the normal threading loops. Except, I put my sleeve ham on top the of my machine, wool side up, and let the thread run over it before going through the first guides.

I swear, the slight drag of the wool on any sort of thread, rayon or polyester, eliminates 99% of the top loopies. The other 1% are due to Murphy's Law, and are summarily dealt with using a Dritz knit thread puller. It's a fact of life with home embroidery machines, I swear. It will always happen on occasion, you can never eliminate it 100%.

Peggy
star
Peggy
Advanced Beginner
MT USA
Member since 10/8/02
Posts: 679
Send Message

      



Date: 12/1/10 10:46 PM

I was having problems with that and didn't realize that my thread wasn't seated properly in the bobbin area.

drdoct
drdoct
Beginner
Member since 12/15/09
Posts: 44
Send Message

      



Date: 12/2/10 2:40 PM

Thanks y'all for the suggestions. I'm using a thread stand but will look into a little better tension. I'll also use some sulky rayon just to see if I get the same results.

JenSews2
star
JenSews2  Friend of PR
Advanced Beginner
CA USA
Member since 2/21/04
Posts: 1315
Send Message

      



Date: 3/7/11 1:26 PM

I'm having the same problem with occasional loopies on my Janome 350e. drdoct, did your solutions work? I've tried changing the needle, trying to wind a new bobbin. I was wondering if it was my thread as it was a Coats&Clark embroidery thread. I haven't figured out what threads I'm going to get, though I like the price of the Metro, but I don't want to have problems. Anyone compare Metro next to the Janome or more expensive threads? Is it the same stitch fill, etc?

------
*Jen*
If I stitch fast enough, does it count as aerobic exercise?

drdoct
drdoct
Beginner
Member since 12/15/09
Posts: 44
Send Message

      



Date: 3/7/11 4:35 PM

I fixed it by tightening up on the thread. Now I automatically hit the tighten button 4 or 5 times to make it tighter.

Go to Page:
Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview

printable version Printable Version

* Advertising and soliciting is strictly prohibited on PatternReview.com. If you find a post which is not in agreement with our Terms and Conditions, please click on the Report Post button to report it. Machine Embroidery >> Top Thread looping occasionally

 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Papercut Patterns 1003

photo
by: ZoSews

Review
Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Gathering apron Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.