SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Forum > Fabrics and more... > Discouraged with fabric choices ( Moderated by CynthiaSue)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
Discouraged with fabric choices
Where you find all your gorgeous fabric
Mary Heckman
star
Mary Heckman  Friend of PR
Intermediate
Pennsylvania USA
Member since 5/4/09
Send Message

Date: 1/13/11 7:45 AM

Since I am new at sewing the last couple years. I have made alot of things, but most I won't wear. One reason is I haven't got my fit right, and the most important reason is I just can't seem to pick the right fabric for the right pattern. I shop a lot a Joann's but as all knows the selection is small and not great quality. I need help in direction on where to look for fabric (reasonable priced since I am new) and how do you know what fabric would look nice with the pattern. Yes I read the back of the pattern at fabric suggestions, but then when I get to the store things are not marked as such. I don't know my fabrics so that is really a draw back to picking the right fabrics. Suggestions on books about fabric. Do they make a book with samples of fabric you can touch?

Michelle L
starstarstar
Michelle L
Intermediate
Missouri USA
Member since 1/20/08
Send Message

In reply to Mary Heckman

Date: 1/13/11 8:54 AM

There is a book called "Fabric Savvy" that you might want to check out.

I tend to purchase most of my fabric online. Many retailers will specify "Pants weight" or "for blouses or dresses" which can help with making selections. Gorgeous Fabrics goes even further, and will make pattern recommendations, including links, for each fabric.

You can also purchase swatches from many online retailers.

I know that not everyone is comfortable with online purchasing; but the quality that I find online is much better than what I find at my local JoAnns or Hancocks. I only go to the fabric store for thread and notions.

------
Michelle

http://cheapandpicky.blogspot.com/