SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Forum > Quilters' Corner > Making a quilt from 75-year-old blocks ( Moderated by Sharon1952)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
Making a quilt from 75-year-old blocks
Invisigal
Invisigal
Intermediate
Member since 11/7/09
Send Message

Date: 10/17/11 11:03 PM

I am new at quilting, having almost finished my first quilt and never having taken a quilting class, etc. I have 10 large quilt squares made by my grandmother in approximately 1935. They are large, about 18 inches, appliqued butterflies on not-so-great quality domestic. I've finally gotten around to trying to do something with them. They are not mildewed, but are stained, so I plan to soak them in Oxyclean and hang to dry.

Is there anything else I should be aware of, try to avoid, etc. when working with this fabric? I haven't quite decided what to do about the number of 10 dilemma -- if only there were 12. Any tips would be appreciated.

Cathy Loves Fabric
star
Cathy Loves Fabric  Friend of PR
Intermediate
USA
Member since 4/16/04
Send Message

In reply to Invisigal

Date: 10/18/11 2:59 AM