SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Forum > Fabrics and more... > SILK velvet blazer ( Moderated by CynthiaSue)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
SILK velvet blazer
SpaceBolt
SpaceBolt
Member since 11/30/11
Send Message

Date: 11/30/11 7:29 PM

Note: I'm a fabric newbie.

So I was looking at this blazer today in Banana Republic:

Velvet Blazer
http://bananarepublic.gap.com/browse/product.do?searchCID=25789&vid=1&pid=875100&scid=875100002

..and on the tag, I didn't see anything that said velvet. So I asked the salesperson why it didn't have velvet listed as the material if it's a velvet blazer she had no idea. She asked the manager and she didn't know either. It did mention cotton, viscose, and some other stuff, though.

So I got back to my computer at work and found out that velvet is actually just the fabric, but it is made of fibers such as silk, cotton, linen, mohair, and wool.

(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Velvet)

Anyway, my question is: If a 100% cotton velvet blazer from Banana Republic costs $250, then how much does a 100% SILK velvet blazer cost? Are they really rare/fancy/expensive?

minggiddylooloo
star
minggiddylooloo  Friend of PR
Intermediate
VA USA
Member since 5/17/05
Send Message

Date: 11/30/11 8:14 PM

Silk velvet is kind of rare to find these days, and if you can find the fabric, it is usually very expensive. Lots of higher end velvet is made out of rayon, or a rayon/silk blend. I was able to find some silk velvet about a year ago from Fabric Mart, I don't remember the cost exactly but I think it was less than $20/yd, which is a steal. The nap of this velvet is definitely more luxe than the rayon/silk velvet I have in my stash.

I think it is just cost prohibitive these days to be making pure silk velvet. I can only imagine the fabulous silk textiles of the days of old....