SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Forum > Fabrics and more... > Do I have to line tweed? ( Moderated by CynthiaSue)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
Do I have to line tweed?
Please, oh, please say no.
SexiSadi
starstarstar
SexiSadi  Friend of PR
Advanced
SC USA
Member since 5/10/05
Send Message

Date: 1/7/12 10:11 PM

I want to make Simplicity 2846 out of some tweed that I have. I have never used tweed for anything before, so i'm a little unsure as to how this fabric works. It "looks" like it might be a ravelly fabric and that might pull apart from just looking at it. Are you supposed to line tweed to avoid problems, or am I just assuming something is going to go wrong with it just based on it's appearance?

------
http://theramblingsoftcm.blogspot.com/
Numbers for 2013:
Yards in stash: 606.25
Yards in: 22.75
Yards out: 10.50

Numbers for 2012:
594.00 yards in stash
4 yards in
10.25 yards out

Numbers for 2011:
601.25 yards in stash (I'm sure this number is off by a few yards)
Yards in: 137.50 (Seriously? I'm over 100, and it's only JULY? Ugh!)
Yards out: 88.75

threaddy
star
threaddy  Friend of PR
Advanced
WY USA
Member since 4/22/09
Send Message

In reply to SexiSadi

Date: 1/7/12 10:16 PM

Isn't tweed wool? Isn't it scratchy? I would line it for that reason alone.

------
"The problem is not that there are problems. The problem is expecting otherwise and thinking that having problems is a problem." Theodore Rubin
"Life isn't about finding yourself. Life's about creating yourself." George Bernard Shaw
Dan 9:24-27

Bernina vintage and computerized, Bernina and BL sergers , BLcoverstitch (a stray Pfaff and Viking followed me home too)

SexiSadi
starstarstar
SexiSadi  Friend of PR
Advanced
SC USA
Member since 5/10/05
Send Message

In reply to threaddy

Date: 1/7/12 10:29 PM

This stuff isn't wool and it's actually very soft.

------
Numbers for 2013:

Numbers for 2012:
594.00 yards in stash
4 yards in
10.25 yards out