SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Forum > Fabrics and more... > Something to check! ( Moderated by CynthiaSue)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
Something to check!
Watch the bolt info on cutting....
gramma b
star
gramma b
USA
Member since 7/25/08
Send Message

Date: 2/11/12 10:32 AM

Twice this has happened to me on buying spring woven fabrics in regular fabric stores--the bolts say 54", but the fabrics are 45", which of course can't squeeze you a sleeveless top out of a yard and a quarter.
Returning to the stores, there wasn't any left or I got arguments
from the clerk. The contents were correct, so these weren't re-cycled cardboards, but the widths are deceiving!

NhiHuynh
starstarstar
NhiHuynh
Intermediate
California USA
Member since 1/4/11
Send Message

Date: 2/11/12 1:15 PM

Thanks for the heads up gramma b. I've never thought to check. I work in the grocery business and if the tag on the shelf doesn't match the product the store gets fined.

Grab your measuring tape and go back and see if you can find other bolts that say 54" but are really 45" and raise a big stink about it. That fabric store is totally ripping you off with 2.25 sq ft less per yard or 17% less fabric. That's a lot plus the whole yardage could be totally unusable. grrr So angry.

------
I finally have a blog. www.detectivehoundstooth.com :)

beauturbo
beauturbo
Advanced
California USA
Member since 5/2/09
Send Message

In reply to gramma b

Date: 2/11/12 5:05 PM

That is pretty bad. My other big issue at a cutting table, is when the fabric is a two way stretch knit or even sometimes a two way stretch woven, like Nylon Lycra and it gets off the bolt at one point, and then rewound or into a flat fold table, and the cutter measures it the wrong way across the grain instead of lengthwise. Most times because cannot recognize a selvage edge I guess.? That has happened to me with bad cutters/new cuttersbefore. Quite a few times over the years.