SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Forum > Quilters' Corner > help - new to quilting ( Moderated by Sharon1952)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
help - new to quilting
Celticstitcher
star
Celticstitcher
Advanced
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since 5/7/11
Send Message

Date: 3/5/12 8:51 AM

Hiya, I've been sewing for many years and have dabbled in quilting but never tried patchwork. I have a cutting mat, but am looking for advise on rotary cutters and rulers - I don't want to buy the wrong thing.

any suggestions on what a 'starter pack' should include?

thanks Hazel

Sharon1952
star
Sharon1952  Friend of PR
Advanced
Massachusetts USA
Member since 7/1/08
Board Moderator
Send Message

In reply to Celticstitcher

Date: 3/5/12 9:02 AM

If you have the mat then all you really NEED is a rotary cutter and a 12" long ruler with some of the more common angles marked on it (45, 60) . Sometimes for specific projects you'll need a different ruler but you can make that purchase when needed.

There are a whole slew of adorable block patterns you can make with just strips. There are numerous videos you can find on youtube which will give you valuable information.

Welcome to our creative world!

------
Sewing: A creative mess is better than tidy idleness. ~Author Unknown

Maia B
star
Maia B  Friend of PR
Advanced Beginner
Illinois USA
Member since 10/27/10
Send Message

Date: 3/5/12 10:01 AM

Hazel, Welcome to quilting!!!! I'd say that the most useful rulers are (give or take an inch-whatever's available where you are): 6x12 (or 8x12 if you can find it), 6x24, and a square (6x6, 8x8, or 12x12). If you only want to buy one, I'd say the 6x12. Good luck, you know where to find help if you need it!

------
🌸 Plenty of machines, mostly Berninas 🌸

Learn To Sew
star
Learn To Sew  Friend of PR
Advanced Beginner
Member since 4/12/05
Send Message

In reply to Sharon1952

Date: 3/5/12 10:07 AM