SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Forum > Sewing Techniques and Tips > Topstitching a stitch and fold-over neckband piece ( Moderated by MissCelie)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
Topstitching a stitch and fold-over neckband piece
Am I set up correctly?
hazelnut
star
hazelnut  Friend of PR
Beginner
USA
Member since 1/7/09
Send Message

Date: 3/5/12 5:19 PM

I'm trying to follow the directions for B5215 where you stitch the collar to the inside first and then fold the collar over to stitch on top (right side), as in the photos. I've never done this before and I'm afraid I won't be able to keep a straight line all around next to the inside folded seam humps. I have a ditch foot, but stink using it (and it looks like the blade would be on the opposite side of where I want to stitch anyway). I also have a walking foot, and I wonder if that would be better? This is the regular zigzag foot. The instructions are not very helpful.

The needle is in the fabric where I would start and try to hold the line as I go around. All suggestions welcome before I start/ruin this. Thanks

kkkkaty
starstarstar
kkkkaty  Friend of PR
Intermediate
Utah USA
Member since 12/7/05
Send Message

Date: 3/5/12 5:32 PM

One thing I might suggest is moving your needle to the left, if you can. Effectively that moves the foot to the right (I am not suggesting putting the needle in a different part of the fabric, just adjusting the needle to the left so more of the foot is on the right). That way more of the foot will have contact with the raised part of the binding, and that will give you a bit more control.

I can see a little "air" under the foot, on the left, in the close up; more contact with the fabric gives more control.

I recently used my walking foot for some similar work, and was pretty happy with the results; not perfect, but better than I've had before.

-- Edited on 3/5/12 5:33 PM --

------
Viking Lily 545
Viking Ruby
Bernina Activa 210