SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Forum > Sewing Techniques and Tips > Finishing seams quickly to prevent unraveling ( Moderated by MissCelie)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
Finishing seams quickly to prevent unraveling
I don't own a serger and can't afford one
jynclr
jynclr
Advanced Beginner
Texas USA
Member since 12/20/11
Send Message

Date: 3/9/12 10:43 AM

So I was thinking of getting a side cutter foot to make various covers for various items and selling them while I look for work (I am a software developer.)

The reason I was thinking of a side cutter is because I don't want to get a serger (especially since I really can't spend the money right now) so I thought I'd simulate a serged seam with one of these side cutter presser feet. I know Miss Helen V has an over-edging stitch and thought I'd use a side cutter with it.

However, the reviews I've read on here and threads I've found lead me to the conclusion that I should save that money and not bother with a side cutter. If that's the case, use the $30 as seed money for fabric and thread to make product.

Several questions:
1) Are those side cutters REALLY THAT BAD? I'll be working with woven material.

2) How then should I finish a seam so they don't unravel? I have used a quick zig zag on other seams, but I'd like this to look a bit more professional.

Thank you for the suggestions and sewing tips on this.

------
Evelyn: Pfaff Creative Performance
Helen V: Babylock Companion BL1550

Member since 12/31/69
Send Message

Date: 3/9/12 10:55 AM

French seam works well and finishes them nicely.

Member since 12/31/69
Send Message

Date: 3/9/12 11:17 AM