SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Forum > Beginner's Forum > I don't know why I was so afraid of installing a zipper! ( Moderated by EleanorSews)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
I don't know why I was so afraid of installing a zipper!
I did it! I installed a zipper
isakswings
star
isakswings
Advanced Beginner
Utah USA
Member since 8/22/08
Send Message

thumbsup 1 member likes this.

Date: 4/19/12 10:49 PM

I have avoided installing a zipper. I was terrified of it actually. I've had a skirt pattern sitting in my sewing room for 6 months. When I boughIt the pattern, I did not realize it required a zipper. Now that I am no longer afraid of zippers, I may attempt to make that skirt this weekend.

The funny thing is, I have been installing elastic on skating dresses for over 2 years. Elastic is SO much harder to install then a zipper! I need to practice a bit more before doing it on a skirt, but I am no longer afraid to do it!

------
I'm fairly new to sewing but I am finding it to be fun and rewarding!

Mufffet
starstarstarstar
Mufffet  Friend of PR
Intermediate
Vermont USA
Member since 8/14/05
Send Message

In reply to isakswings <<

Date: 4/19/12 11:05 PM

Good for you!I know how you feel. But then you learn and it isn't hard at all. Zippers are easier than making 4 or 6 buttonholes and sewing on all those buttons anyway. ;)

------
"Be kind whenever possible. It is always possible."
--Dalai Lama

I have sewing machines

isakswings
star
isakswings
Advanced Beginner
Utah USA
Member since 8/22/08
Send Message

In reply to Mufffet <<

Date: 4/19/12 11:22 PM

Funny thing is, I haven't attempted a button hole either!! Snaps and Velcro and now a zipper. Buttons don't scare me, I just haven't ever made a button hole. LOL! I just haven't had a reason to install one!

------

GlButterfly

GlButterfly
Intermediate
California USA
Member since 8/28/08
Send Message

Date: 4/19/12 11:27 PM