SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Forum > Fabrics and more... > Sugesstion Fabric ( Moderated by CynthiaSue)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
Sugesstion Fabric
still having troubles with this
lvs2sew
lvs2sew
Intermediate
Iowa USA
Member since 4/25/09
Send Message

Date: 4/25/12 2:07 AM

Hello, This may sound crazy but, I'm still having troubles understand the suggested fabric even though I've been sewing for 4+ yrs you would think I understand it by now , Do you have to use what is suggested? Or can you just find something else you like? The reason I'm wondering is due to my local Walmart don't have allot of the fabrics on some of the patterns they suggest mine mostly carries the cottons and some silks , and jersey this pattern that I'm wondering about is asking for SUGGESTED FABRICS: Lt.Wt. Fabrics: Broadcloth, Denim, Chambray and Linen. I just still am having troubles understand the different types of fabric out there all i know is the cotton and the knit jersey due to using it so much. If anyone could help that be great the pattern I am wondering about doesn't have a review that i could find its pattern M6534.

------
"My husband said if I buy any more (fabric) he would leave me - I'll miss him."

Mel.J
starstar
Mel.J
Intermediate
Victoria Australia
Member since 7/30/02
Send Message

In reply to lvs2sew <<

Date: 4/25/12 6:45 AM

Broadcloth is usually a simple weave cotton, you may be able to find that. Chambray is a light weight denim-coloured fabric, also usually cotton. Broadcloth and chambray are the sort of things you'd see shirts made out of. Denim you probably know, is what they make jeans out of. Any material that feels similar to that would be ok, maybe look for something labelled cotton twill.
Linen, I can't explain very well, it's a loose weave & will be labelled as linen. You can get linen blended with other fibres and they'd be fine too.