SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Forum > Beginner's Forum > Total Beginner - Sewing Garb ( Moderated by EleanorSews)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
Total Beginner - Sewing Garb
Sewing for a Ren Fair, please give advice!
Antiquated Lace
Antiquated Lace
Beginner
USA
Member since 11/18/11
Send Message

Date: 5/1/12 7:47 PM

Hi! I've never really sewn anything on my own before, but my sister and I took some friends to Scarborough Fair the other day and now I've been conscripted into helping make some garb for two girls (and myself), since I have a machine and no day job.

Two of us will be buying actual corsets, but the other doesn't want to spend so much at once. So, my current list is:
Two chemises,
Three skirts, (plus extra for the
one bodice (hopefully with boning, I am so scared of it!)
And HOPEFULLY I want to make some simple shoes, just to say I can!!

So, if anyone has any advice on what patterns to use (I have some bookmarked from Simplicity) or...
Very importantly, What Fabric should I use for the hoooot hot Texas summer heat? I am a complete newb at this, this is the mooost important question!!
And because I am an idiot, if you have any cutting advice about the fabric, I totally need that! I just recently learned that there's such thing as a bias, and am still trying to understand it.
Any advice on boning? I am confident that it will be totally difficult and am totally nervous.

Please tell me anything you think I need to know, remembering that I have no prior knowledge! I thank you if you read this through.

------
Bear with me!

MagnoliaHoney
MagnoliaHoney
Beginner
Kansas USA
Member since 8/16/10
Send Message

thumbsup 1 member likes this.

Date: 5/1/12 8:19 PM

I am doing the same. I hope your friends don't think you are super woman! lol