SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Forum > Beginner's Forum > Vogue 2903 Tips? ( Moderated by EleanorSews)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
Vogue 2903 Tips?
sadluckdame
sadluckdame
Beginner
Iowa USA
Member since 5/5/12
Send Message

Date: 5/5/12 1:37 PM

Hi! I'm a beginner-- I started sewing just a few short weeks ago but have already made a floor-length convertible dress and two nice a-line skirts. I'm in love with 50s fashion and am finding that it's much easier (and cheaper) to make my own clothing, especially since I generally have to have extensive alterations done to any dress I buy.

I recently purchased Vogue pattern 2903 and hope to start working on it sometime in the near future. However, I read a Craftster post about this pattern that mentioned some difficulties due to the unusual sleeve construction, and now I'm a bit nervous. Does anyone have any tips for me? Any advice at all would be greatly appreciated. :)

Thank you in advance!

Melody
starstar
Melody
Advanced
Michigan USA
Member since 2/7/02
Send Message

thumbsup 1 member likes this.

Date: 5/5/12 1:55 PM

Hi and Welcome to the world of sewingCongratulations on completing some garments. That's a big deal.

On Vogue 2903, the pattern rating is average but if you feel like you can tackle it, more power to you. I caution you to make a test version (muslin) first. That way, you'll know if it's too complicated before you even have to concern yourself with the fashion fabric. I applaud the enthusiasm of new sewers and I am of the opinion that if you don't think a thing is beyond your abilities then you're probably right. Remain fearless.