SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Forum > Machine Embroidery > Just bought a Brother PE770 ( Moderated by Pyrose)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
Just bought a Brother PE770
Newbie here - Need thread, stabilizer, etc. recommendations
1975Jumby
star
1975Jumby
Intermediate
California USA
Member since 8/19/08
Send Message

Date: 5/7/12 0:23 AM

I just bought the Brother PE770 on Amazon for $569. They have it listed for $599, but there was some special offer/discount that was taken at the checkout.

I'm TOTALLY new to embroidery machines and have never done any embroidery before, but I've been sewing for years. After alot of research, I chose the Brother PE770 because it was a stand-alone machine, had the USB drive and the 5x7 hoop. I didn't want a low end machine, but since this is a new adventure for me, I didn't want to spend alot of money.

Anyway, since this is new, I have no supplies such as thread and stabilizer. Can anyone recommend some supplies that I absolutely need to get started. There is a thread collection by Polystar on Amazon that looks like a good deal...has about 63 spools for $120. Is this a good deal and is the thread good? I guess the color coding on this thread is compatible with the Brother machine. They also have another package on there that has some pre-wound bobbins and for $99 there is a package of hoops.

Also, if anyone can recommend what kind of stabilizer and bobbin thread I would appreciate it....actually, any recommendations would be helpful! Really looking forward to starting this new hobby!

------
Babylock Ellisimo Gold
Babylock Enlighten
Kenmore 1914
Kenmore 1814

PattiAnnJ
star
PattiAnnJ
Advanced
USA
Member since 12/3/06
Send Message

In reply to 1975Jumby <<
thumbsup 2 members like this.

Date: 5/7/12 12:16 PM

First, congratulations on the new machine. Embroidery machines are almost magical.