SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Forum > Pattern Modifications, Design Changes & Pattern Drafting > changing bias cut skirt from elastic waistband to facing?

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
changing bias cut skirt from elastic waistband to facing?
Argarg
Argarg  Friend of PR
Beginner
USA
Member since 8/20/09
Send Message

Date: 5/11/12 9:18 AM

Hi, I made Kwik Sew 3003, but the elastic waistband looks terrible. I want it to stay sleek at the top. I'm happy with the fit from the hips down and I successfully matched the plaid so I don't want to give up on it! I was wondering if I could trim off the top and/or take it in at the waist and just make a facing for the waist? Should the facing be cut on the bias too? I would think so but maybe there's some trick I don't know about. I would have to open up one seam and put in a zipper, I guess, as well. I'm a beginner, just fumbling along, so this would be a big experiment for me! If anyone has any advice, I would be so appreciative. Thanks so much.

Padmé

Padmé
Member since 7/12/06
Send Message

Date: 5/11/12 10:25 AM

I would take the elastic and and unpick the stitches or cut it off at the stitch line, whichever you thought it could handle. Then I would put the skirt on right side out, and facing a mirror see how much extra fabric you have on each side, Measure it with the handy ruler you have near. Move out about 1/2 an inch and pin. Then pin down the excess on the sides giving yourself the ease you want. You can chalk or mark this line along the pins on the wrong side.