SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Forum > Sewing Machines > binder attachment ( Moderated by Sharon1952, EleanorSews)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
binder attachment
type of binder for Bernina
Sharon Rose
Sharon Rose  Friend of PR
Intermediate
Indiana USA
Member since 3/10/11
Send Message

Date: 5/14/12 10:55 AM

I am new to machine quilting and am looking to purchase an attachment to apply binding to my quilts. I have a Bernina 180E. The bernina internet site shows 2 types of feet that are available. I have also seen attachments available on Ebay that attach to the machine bed that can be used to apply binding. I am confused and would like advise on which route I should go. Foot vs. attachment? Does one do a better job than the other? And if purchasing the foot is suggested over the attachment, which of the Bernina feet works better? My experience in the past has been that the correct tool can make a big difference in quality outcome.

SouthernStitch
starstarstar
SouthernStitch  Friend of PR
Intermediate
Member since 8/24/02
Send Message

In reply to Sharon Rose <<

Date: 5/14/12 1:48 PM

I have the #88 binder. The thing is, you have to also buy the #95 foot to use it. There is not just a foot that does the binding. The former binders have gotten lots of criticism, but not this new one. It has a swing away feature, and works like a charm!
You cut your fabric at 1.5 inches wide, so it is slightly wider than previous models. You just have to make sure, as with any binder attachment, that you starch your strips, and zig zag the edges of your project to flatten down those edges.

Also make sure you really push it into the binder, otherwise you will come out with the binding barely attached to the quilt.