SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Forum > Beginner's Forum > Pattern Cutting Pain ( Moderated by EleanorSews)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
Pattern Cutting Pain
eforen
eforen
Advanced Beginner
Hawaii USA
Member since 5/28/12
Send Message

Date: 6/12/12 11:09 AM

because she has to do with cutting the fabric after the pattern has been marked on the fabric.

currently I'm just using scissors and going on the pattern by hand but I planned to get a circular hand cutter soon.

I'm wondering if there's any other tools or techniques that would make it easier and faster to cut out patterns from fabric. any tips in this department and all would be very helpful as I am very new to sewing anything larger than a small bag or pillow.

------
-Rel
"A little nonsense now and then, is relished by the wisest men." - Willy Wonka (Gene Wilder)
Check out my blog at LothTailor.com

jadamo00
star
jadamo00
Advanced
New York USA
Member since 3/13/06
Send Message

In reply to eforen <<

Date: 6/12/12 2:49 PM

I'm not understanding the problem. You find working with the scissors difficult?

Lena Merrin
star
Lena Merrin
Expert/Couture
AUSTRALIA
Member since 2/5/09
Send Message

Date: 6/12/12 6:23 PM

Cutting out is a long and tedious process. Don't rush it, it has to be done precisely. We all have to suffer through it every time and some people have learned to enjoy it! :)

------
www.iconicpatterns.com

jacquiJB
jacquiJB  Friend of PR
Advanced Beginner
DENMARK
Member since 5/5/06
Send Message

Date: 6/13/12 2:14 AM

I don't think there are any shortcuts when it comes to accurate cutting.