SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
 

Forum > Web site Talk > Remote shutter release ( Moderated by Deepika)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
Remote shutter release
Camera question
petro
starstarstar
petro  Friend of PR
Advanced
France
Member since 6/24/07
Posts: 2682
Send Message

      



Date: 7/3/12 7:41 AM

I remember that Erica B did a post on her blog about using her Nikon D40 with a remote so as not to have to wait for someone to take a shot of a garment before posting. Does anyone else do this? I have a D5100 and a remote, but when I try this, the camera won't shoot. It works if I am shooting something else and can set the focus by pressing the button halfway, but when I try to take a picture with me as the subject it won't work. I've tried focusing on something I'm guessing is near enough to where I'll stand, but that doesn't work. It still won't shoot. Very frustrating. I've tried reading through the manuals and ken rockwell's site but haven't found the answer. So, in desperation, anyone any ideas how to get this to work?

------
http://patternpandemonium.wordpress.com/

SquishSews
star
SquishSews  Friend of PR
Advanced Beginner
Member since 1/18/09
Posts: 450
Send Message

      



Date: 7/3/12 8:26 AM

I finally have power back and really need to catch up on the rest of boards & have to run to work, but I couldn't resist when I saw a camera question, LOL!! Try setting the remote mode for longer. Googling turned up checking pp 35-37 in your manual. (I have a D80 so I can't confirm that.)

Try some of these messages for more info...
http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/read.asp?forum=1034&message=38848013

koo104
star
koo104
Advanced
Washington USA
Member since 1/25/04
Posts: 460
Send Message

      



Date: 7/3/12 9:05 AM

I have a D 80 and my husband got it after discovering Ken Rockwell's website. Another option is to use the timer. It does take some practise.
I need to play with my remote, I haven't used it yet. I will paly around this long weekend. I have 5 days off.

petro
starstarstar
petro  Friend of PR
Advanced
France
Member since 6/24/07
Posts: 2682
Send Message

      



Date: 7/3/12 12:41 PM

Thanks for the suggestions. Friendscript, I think you might be on to something with the setting the remote for longer - if I can find out where to do that. I tried again today and it seemed to be taking itself out of 'remote' setting as if 'single' was a default. As you can tell, I'm a bit phobic with it. I thought I just set it in the information panel and that was it. I'm off to check the link now.

------
http://patternpandemonium.wordpress.com/

solosmocker
starstarstar
solosmocker
Advanced
New York USA
Member since 1/23/06
Posts: 1637
Send Message

      



Date: 7/3/12 8:18 PM

Also make sure the remote is pointed at the camera properly. More than once I've done this backwards and thought something was wrong with the remote or the cam. No, it was operator error!

------
http://lasewist.blogspot.com/

petro
starstarstar
petro  Friend of PR
Advanced
France
Member since 6/24/07
Posts: 2682
Send Message

      
thumbsup 1 member likes this.



Date: 7/4/12 3:16 AM

Good point solosmocker. After Friendscript pointed me in the right direction and I knew what to google, I think I've found the answer. It turns out that this camera resets itself back from the setting used with a remote to the normal setting you use in one minute if you haven't taken a picture. You have to go into a different part of the menu to find where you can change the amount of time you have. It almost certainly takes me more than a minute to get into the right position, remember which garment parts need to show up well and smooth out bits which got crumpled en route. So I need to fix this setting to a much longer one. I love this forum, when i ask a basic question on a techie issue, there is no snarling condescension as you often get on the techie forums. Everyone is so nice and helpful. All I need now is for it to stop raining for long enough, can anyone suggest how to fix that?

------
http://patternpandemonium.wordpress.com/

rivergum
starstarstarstar
rivergum
Advanced
AUSTRALIA
Member since 12/17/06
Posts: 1629
Send Message

      



In reply to petro <<


Date: 7/4/12 6:55 AM

One thing I do is take the pic with a door at my back. When I set the timer the camera focusses on the door. When I stand in front of it, the focus is about right. Of course this could be a wall or a curtain, or anything that triggers the auto focus.

Not a problem when using a remote, but if you are not in position yet when the camera focusses it might focus on something in the distance.

------
Taking in is happier than letting out.

Sydney, Australia

petro
starstarstar
petro  Friend of PR
Advanced
France
Member since 6/24/07
Posts: 2682
Send Message

      



Date: 7/4/12 3:51 PM

That's a good tip Rivergum.

------
http://patternpandemonium.wordpress.com/

tourist
star
tourist  Friend of PR
Intermediate
British Columbia CANADA
Member since 7/23/07
Posts: 6454
online now
Send Message

      



In reply to petro <<


Date: 7/4/12 5:26 PM

Quote:
I love this forum, when i ask a basic question on a techie issue, there is no snarling condescension as you often get on the techie forums.


Haha - I was having all sorts of similar problems using the timer on my new camera. I didn't quite get to the point of using tech forums for help because I eventually figured out that I was pushing the power button instead of the shutter button. Couldn't figure out why it was shutting itself off instead of snapping the photo! Hey, it's a new camera and I was standing in front of it instead of behind it, okay?

------
http://bgballroom.wordpress.com to follow the progress on my next ballgown.

stirwatersblue
star
stirwatersblue
Intermediate
Kansas USA
Member since 12/13/08
Posts: 3586
Send Message

      
thumbsup 1 member likes this.



Date: 7/7/12 4:44 PM

Tourist, I have done that, too! LOL

I've had four (four? I think?) digital cameras, and the timer function has worked really well on all of them. I haven't tried using it to capture pix of just myself, but we use it all the time at big family gatherings. It takes 1-2 test shots to make sure the shooter knows exactly where to fit into the shot, but once you have that set up, it's great.

------
~Gem in the prairie

Go to Page:
Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview

printable version Printable Version

* Advertising and soliciting is strictly prohibited on PatternReview.com. If you find a post which is not in agreement with our Terms and Conditions, please click on the Report Post button to report it. Web site Talk >> Remote shutter release

 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Simplicity 9499

photo
by: JUNIPERJUN...

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Fleece-Easy Baby Wardrobe Pattern

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Baby Wardrobe Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.