SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Forum > Quilters' Corner > Loading quilt on frame ( Moderated by Sharon1952)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
Loading quilt on frame
Methods of loading a quilt onto quilting frame
Krazyred35
Krazyred35
Member since 7/8/12
Send Message

Date: 7/8/12 6:15 PM

Ok - I am really a newbie to quilting and sewing.

My mom and I purchased a long-arm quilting machine and frame. We attended a two day class on using the machine/frame combo. During the class, we were taught to baste the quilt backing to the canvas leaders in order to load the quilt on the frame.

Neither one of us have a machine that has a very long basting stitch. I am trying to find an inexpensive (the ones I know of that will work run about $700 - $1,000) machine with a decent basting stitch. Currently I am looking at the singer 4166 because singer states that this machine has a basting stitch.

However, I have a feeling that there is more than one way to load a quilt onto a frame. So I am looking for any information and/or guidance in this area.

Thanks!!!!

Sharon1952
star
Sharon1952  Friend of PR
Advanced
Massachusetts USA
Member since 7/1/08
Board Moderator
Send Message

In reply to Krazyred35 <<

Date: 7/8/12 7:16 PM

Which machine do you have?

------
Sewing: A creative mess is better than tidy idleness. ~Author Unknown

Krazyred35
Krazyred35
Member since 7/8/12
Send Message

Date: 7/8/12 7:49 PM

Queen quilter 18 with a wooden frame - can't remember the brand of the frame but it is the one that you purchase the EMT conduit to make the rails.

Warbler
star
Warbler  Friend of PR
Advanced
Vermont USA
Member since 4/15/07
Send Message

Date: 7/8/12 8:25 PM

I do not have a long nor do I know anything about the model machine/frame you mention but I know people whom have pin basted their backing to leaders.

I think the Janome 6300 has a long basting stitch.

------
Janome MC6600 Bernina 240 Juki MO735 Singer 201-2 Singer 221-1