SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Forum > Beginner's Forum > First attempt at sewing a pair of trousers - please help!!!! ( Moderated by EleanorSews)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
First attempt at sewing a pair of trousers - please help!!!!
shalloon
shalloon
Beginner
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since 7/25/12
Send Message

Date: 7/27/12 6:33 AM

OK, this is my first attempt at sewing a pair of trousers, and please forgive me, I want to scream. Really loudly.

My first attempt was with a simple drawstring trousers from New Look. I gave up in frustration after two tries, because the pattern would have required extensive alterations I really donít want to make (Iím just a beginner).

Current attempt is with a simple drawstring trousers from a Mc Calls pattern. No darts, no closure to speak of, 4 pieces only. Iím sewing this (well, attempting to) in black cotton muslin (no right and wrong side, which I thought would make things easier).

So I folded my fabric, cut out my pieces.

Patterns instructions:
1. sew the back to the front at inner leg join.
OK, done.

2. Stich crotch seam.
So I laid my two pieces (the joined up front to back) on top of one another, front against front and back againt back, so that the curves matched, and started sewing. Then I realised that both pieces had the seam facing towards me (as opoposed to both seams being outside), so I painstainkingly unpicked what I had done. Then I tried to lay the pieces so that both seans are inside facing (ie wrong side out/ right side in). But when I do that, that means that the curves donít match any more. The only way to have the curves matching is to lay it out the way I did originally. Surely this canít be right?

Could somebody explain to me what is happening, what I did wrong, and what I should have done to avoid this? I donít suppose itís fixable?

Thanks in advance for your help!

misschris
misschris
AUSTRALIA
Member since 2/3/06
Send Message