SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Forum > Beginner's Forum > Boxers or briefs . . . Actually ( Moderated by EleanorSews)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
Boxers or briefs . . . Actually
Needle up or down (whoops)
kayco
kayco  Friend of PR
Beginner
CA USA
Member since 6/3/12
Send Message

Date: 7/30/12 7:58 PM

Do you have a preference? I like my Machine to stop with the needle down. As a beginner I often stop mid-seam to assess or adjust. I can set my bernina for this, but the default is needle up. I'm wondering why you'd want it to stop with the needle up? Btw, when I press the thread cutter button at the end of the seam it stops up regardless of how i've set it (I like that too).

------
Palace - Babylock Ovation - She makes me feel like a Princess
Cricket - Bernina Artista 730e - Steady, Smart and Sweet
Renee - Berina 1150MDA - My Tiny Dancer

Courtney Ostaff
Courtney Ostaff
Intermediate
WV USA
Member since 11/23/10
Send Message

Date: 7/30/12 8:11 PM

I like to stop with it up because I don't have an automatic thread cutter, and this saves me a teensy bit of time on a seam.

jannw
starstarstarstar
jannw  Friend of PR
Intermediate
WA USA
Member since 9/3/06
Send Message

In reply to kayco <<

Date: 7/30/12 8:49 PM

I like it up...Force of habit , maybe. Last year I bought a machine that has the needle down and I don't know how many times I've yanked on the fabric, only to find the needle still in it. After the year, I still don't like it. If I want it down, I prefer to put it down myself..it takes about a second!

------
2009-113.25 yds
2010-115.5
2011-80.25+30+donated
2012 86.3 yds..
2013 21.0
Everyone who sews seriously has a stockpile of fabrics, because it is natural to purchase more than can be sewn in any one season" Singer, Timesaving Sewing, 1987

NhiHuynh
starstarstar
NhiHuynh
Intermediate
CA USA
Member since 1/4/11
Send Message

In reply to kayco <<