SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Forum > Sewing Machines > Choosing a New Sewing Machine ( Moderated by Sharon1952, EleanorSews)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
Choosing a New Sewing Machine
Advice on choosing a new Bernina
Coco1xx
Coco1xx
Member since 4/20/11
Send Message

Date: 9/2/12 7:09 PM

I am a beginner quilter and have never used an embroidery machine before. However, now that I have retired, I have time to pursue both, and I am looking for the "perfect" machine. I have been offered a really good deal on a 635, but I am not sure I like the big blue bubbles on the face of the machine (much too busy). I have also looked at the 580. Can anyone offer any advice on which of these two machines might be better for me, or is there another machine I should consider

SouthernStitch
starstarstar
SouthernStitch  Friend of PR
Intermediate
LA
Member since 8/24/02
Send Message

Date: 9/2/12 7:30 PM

Did your dealer tell you about the new 7 series that is coming out? It may be more than you want to spend, but they will be out very soon. You could look at the 750, which will allow you get just the sewing machine and add the embroidery later. These machines will have the larger harp space, hover feature, dual feed, and a great new bobbin system. They will also allow a larger embroidery field than the 5 series.
Many people love their 6's. You also have the choice of getting a 730 at a close out price. That's what I have. Although I may upgrade, I do love this machine. It has many great features!

I think the 580 is a great machine, but it also depends on your budget, and what features you will need. Do you want 5.5 mm feed dogs, or the 9mm size?

------
Bernina 780, and 530
Juki TL2010
Babylock Evolution
Singer 403a

When life gives you green velvet curtains, make a green velvet dress.

Sonoma33
star
Sonoma33  Friend of PR
Intermediate
CA USA
Member since 5/10/09
Send Message

In reply to Coco1xx <<

Date: 9/2/12 7:33 PM