SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Forum > Beginner's Forum > Button Sizes on Burda Patterns ( Moderated by EleanorSews)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
Button Sizes on Burda Patterns
Burda Patterns
smile1960
smile1960
Intermediate
Virginia USA
Member since 7/22/09
Send Message

Date: 9/13/12 6:11 PM

I'm not a beginner, but this seems like a beginner question, so...

I haven't sewn a Burda pattern is yrs., but this weekend, I bought a bunch while they were on sale at JA for $2.49 (!!).

I know that these are meant to be internat'l, so I get that the evelope back is not like what we see on Vouge, etc. For example, for the zipper length, it has an illustartion of a zipper with the length in inches & cm. Fine. Easy to figure out.

But what about the buttons? Illustration of the button(s) is there, as well as the letter for the garment (top A, skirt B) & the number of buttons needed. NOT the button size. I've opened up several of the envelopes hoping to find the info on the tissue somewhere, and - so far - nothing. Ditto the instruction sheet.

Yeah, I could spread out the tissue, find the buttonhole & measure, but, really.

Am, I missing something here...?

Thanks,
Lisa

GlButterfly

GlButterfly
Intermediate
California USA
Member since 8/28/08
Send Message

Date: 9/13/12 11:56 PM

If I'm buying buttons specifically for an outfit I will try to buy the size on the pattern envelope; otherwise, I buy a size appropriate for the outfit and what's currently in fashion. Would this work for you? Then you can practice making buttonholes until you find the perfect size for the button.

------
That's Gl = for Gloria, not G. I.

Nancy K
starstarstar
Nancy K
Advanced
New York USA
Member since 12/28/04
Send Message

In reply to smile1960 <<

Date: 9/14/12 5:09 PM