SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Forum > Sewing Techniques and Tips > Punch, Punch? ( Moderated by MissCelie)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
Punch, Punch?
allan500
allan500
Member since 4/25/12
Send Message

Date: 9/16/12 1:43 PM

I've been sewing for several months. As I get past the "Let's make a potholder for Bernadette" and into more serious patterns, I am dumbfounded by why sewers so often use methods other a pattern punch to produce dot markings. It certainly can't be the price--only several dollars, and yet when I first began, and was reading every book I could get, I heard sewers espousing far more time consuming and less effective methods. Am I missing something?

Allan

AdaH
star
AdaH  Friend of PR
Intermediate
Iowa USA
Member since 11/21/09
Send Message

Date: 9/16/12 4:23 PM

what is a pattern punch?

------
Ada

jadamo00
star
jadamo00
Advanced
New York USA
Member since 3/13/06
Send Message

Date: 9/16/12 4:46 PM

And that kinda says it, doesn't it...?

beauturbo
beauturbo
Advanced
California USA
Member since 5/2/09
Send Message

In reply to allan500 <<

Date: 9/16/12 5:17 PM

I would not use one for me at all. For a couple of reasons. One is that I would not always even have something tough underneath the fabric to hammer a punch into, that would not get wrecked. Like a dining room table or even one of those cardboard folding cutting matt's just sitting on top of a bed or maybe on my carpeted living room floor.