SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Forum > Sewing Machines > Oh my goodness! So much plastic! ( Moderated by Sharon1952, EleanorSews)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
Oh my goodness! So much plastic!
Allegro
Allegro
Member since 5/12/10
Send Message

Date: 9/18/12 3:15 PM

In another thread I discussed my new Janome 6600, which I'm not loving (I'm not bonding with my Janome 6600). I've decided to sell or trade it in and have been reading about other brands and other machines. I had an opportunity to make a quick visit to a sewing machine shop yesterday to see some of these machines in person. I was able to try out a few lower end Pfaffs, a Viking Saphire and a Bernina which is out of my budget, just for kicks. My, oh my! They seemed to sew all right, but I don't know if I can get past the plastic! They just felt so cheap! I've been sewing for 34 years with a Kenmore, and yes, it is metal.

Sigh.

Soolip
star
Soolip
Advanced
CA USA
Member since 6/18/08
Send Message

thumbsup 10 members like this.

Date: 9/18/12 3:38 PM

Sadly, this is what all domestic sewing machine casings are made of these days. I hate it too. I mostly sew on vintage Singers now, and only get out the Elna 6005 when I absolutely need to (which isn't often).

I think the only plastic appliance in my house is my alarm clock, which will soon be replaced by a good vintage one when I find what I'm looking for. I don't have a TV, but my computer is an Apple laptop, which is mostly metal, save the keys and the screen.

Very happy and proud to be living as plastic-free as possible in 2012.

Doris W. in TN
star
Doris W. in TN  Friend of PR
Intermediate
TN USA
Member since 2/9/04
Send Message

thumbsup 1 member likes this.

Date: 9/18/12 3:48 PM

It took me a while to get accustomed to the plastic housing on newer sewing machines. The good news is that they do not weigh a ton when you carry them to a class or the dealer for service.

JillyBe
starstarstar
JillyBe