SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Forum > Sewing Machines > How do you pick a new sewing machine? ( Moderated by Sharon1952, EleanorSews)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
How do you pick a new sewing machine?
tg33

tg33
Beginner
IRELAND
Member since 11/11/08
Send Message

Date: 9/21/12 10:29 AM

I hope it's OK to post this, it's a follow on from the other thread, "do I need a new sewing machine"!! I guess I do need one .

I am based in Ireland, so if you could make advice general, or refer to suppliers in Europe that would be great.

I have been using a 70 sewing machine from Lidl for a few years now (I think it's less than $100), and it has done well for me. It has started to get more difficult however, and I am thinking of upgrading. I do mainly garment sewing, the machine needs to tidy away as I lost my craft room, appart from that I don't need a mad lot of functions, but a good strong machine that will sew through anything nicely would be good. Also one that can be serviced and repaired if needed.

The functions I'm looking for are:
- zigzag, variable width
- easily variable stitch length
- variable needle position (left/right/middle)
- straight stitch
- can use single and twin needles
- self threading (I am beginning to notice it hard to read small print)
- variable presser foot pressure

Being able to pick whether the machine with the needle up or down would be handy too, but I've managed without it for a long time now!

So far, I like the idea of this machine,
Bernina 1008 but the reviews here seem to suggest it's quite a basic machine for a lot of money. But maybe that's what I want? I can call into the Bernina dealer, it's not far away, and have a look (and get a price).

I've been looking through the reviews here, but I', finding there is so much information I'm bewildered...

------
Reading from Europe

pknord
pknord
Intermediate
TX USA
Member since 9/1/11
Send Message

In reply to tg33 <<