SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Forum > Beginner's Forum > Is Sewing Clothes Cheaper than Buying them? ( Moderated by EleanorSews)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
Is Sewing Clothes Cheaper than Buying them?
davidxy887
davidxy887
Member since 9/28/12
Send Message

Date: 10/2/12 10:09 PM

Hello,

A beginner here. I was thinking on learning how to sew in order to save money. I would sew my own pants, jeans, formal shirts, t-shirts, do my own alterations for clothes that I buy.
Now that I'm really looking into it I'm not sure any more.

Do you really save money by learning how to sew?

Thanks

Marie367
Marie367  Friend of PR
Intermediate
Ohio USA
Member since 5/28/11
Send Message

In reply to davidxy887 <<

Date: 10/2/12 10:19 PM

It used to be that you could save alot of money sewing. Not so much now. You can save some though and there are some bargains out there. The big advantage is that you can make clothes that actually fit and you get the joy of wearing things that you know you made-there is an enjoyment factor for me. Have you checked out the Sewing For Men Thread? There are quite a few men who sew on here.

AliceM
star
AliceM
Advanced
Illinois USA
Member since 4/30/05
Send Message

thumbsup 1 member likes this.

Date: 10/2/12 10:22 PM

Depends on where you buy your clothes. If you like high end clothing you will save money sewing. On the other hand, if you mostly shop discount stores your sewn clothes will cost more. The good thing is that they will fit better and be the style and colors that YOU want instead of what the stores buyers think is in style.

NhiHuynh
starstarstar
NhiHuynh
Intermediate
California USA
Member since 1/4/11
Send Message

In reply to davidxy887 <<

Date: 10/2/12 10:23 PM

It really depends on what type of clothing you normally buy and how your source your materials and how your value your time.