SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Forum > Sewing Machines > sewing machine quandary!! ( Moderated by Sharon1952, EleanorSews)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
sewing machine quandary!!
The best approach to buying machine for beginner
10legs
10legs
Member since 10/5/12
Send Message

Date: 10/5/12 8:36 PM

Hello All!
I am a busy working mom who would like to learn how to sew. I am a beginner (unless you count hand embroidery in my youth and have never used a machine) I have been investigating sewing machines to buy and have visited some dealers and received varied advice. End result: I am totally confused. When I discovered this site, I signed up at once - your advice will be greatly appreciated!
Background info: I am interested in sewing home projects, kids clothes, alterations etc. I might be interested in machine embroidery later, once I get comfortable using my machine. There is a Viking dealer (in a Joann), a mom & pop store with Viking + Brother and a Bernina dealer(rather snooty!) in the vicinity. Budget <$ 1000.00
Questions:
1. Should I buy a cheaper machine that is more manual to begin with OR start with a higher end computerized model that will make learning to sew easy ?
2. Any recommendations for a beginning machine given the dealers near me?
3. I may need to move overseas - which of the above will need the least "help" from dealers?
4. Is buying a machine from Viking inJoann any different from the smaller sewing store? Both offer classes.

JEF
starstarstar
JEF  Friend of PR
Intermediate
VA USA
Member since 7/27/05
Board Moderator
Send Message

In reply to 10legs <<

Date: 10/5/12 10:16 PM

Welcome 10legs!

There is a REALLY long thread about buying a machine with lots of advice: buying a machine thread.