SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
 

Forum > Miscellaneous > How to dial overseas ( Moderated by Deepika, EleanorSews, CynthiaSue)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
How to dial overseas
If long-distance company uses an access number
Vintage Joan
star
Vintage Joan
Intermediate
Ontario Canada
Member since 7/16/07
Posts: 10782
Send Message

      



Date: 10/7/12 8:55 AM

Do any of you know how to dial a number in Europe (a cell number in France) using a long-distance carrier that requires you to dial an access code first? I tried several different ways -- at one point I reached a human, but not the one I was trying to reach, so who knows where I called. The long-distance company I deal with (Distributel Canada) is closed on Sundays, so I can't ask them. But the process might be similar for other long-distance plans that have you use an access code.

Thanks for any ideas on this.

------
my shield and my very great reward ~ Gen. 15:1

Image: me, about four decades ago

andye
andye  Friend of PR
Beginner
Virginia USA
Member since 5/9/09
Posts: 1913
Send Message

      
thumbsup 1 member likes this.



Date: 10/7/12 10:29 AM

Dial the access code, then

Quote:
011 + country code + area code + phone number


------
Bernina B330
Feet: 1,2,3,3A,4,5,7,8,10,13,16,18,20, 29,32,35,37,50,64,70,71,82,85,86, 92

Vintage Joan
star
Vintage Joan
Intermediate
Ontario Canada
Member since 7/16/07
Posts: 10782
Send Message

      



In reply to andye <<


Date: 10/7/12 10:57 AM

Thanks. I did that, but it didn't connect me.

------
my shield and my very great reward ~ Gen. 15:1

Image: me, about four decades ago

livetosew
livetosew
Member since 1/25/09
Posts: 71
Send Message

      



Date: 10/7/12 1:19 PM

If it's a cell phone number you are calling,dial 011+country code+cell phone number.You don't have to dial the area code.Hope it helps.

Pinkytoo
starstarstar
Pinkytoo
Advanced
Nevada USA
Member since 6/23/06
Posts: 2983
Send Message

      



In reply to Vintage Joan <<


Date: 10/7/12 1:23 PM

For a lot of cell phone companies you have to get "special access" to call to/from a foreign country. I don't know if it is a higher rate or what makes it special, but you have to contact your cell phone service carrier to get them to flip the switch (or whatever it is they do).

------
Sewing is my therapy!

Vintage Joan
star
Vintage Joan
Intermediate
Ontario Canada
Member since 7/16/07
Posts: 10782
Send Message

      



In reply to Pinkytoo <<


Date: 10/7/12 2:08 PM

Thanks, everyone. Yes, I think maybe I have to get special access to dial a cell phone overseas. I asked them to set it up so I could call France. Calling a French landline number is free/included in my little plan, and it supposedly costs 29 cents a minute to call a cell phone... but after dialing various wrong ways, I finally got a Distributel message that said I didn't have access to that country. So something isn't right, but I'll call them tomorrow. No more urgency now -- I heard from my family member just now. (They had accidentally bumped my autodial number at 4 a.m. my time, while my ringer was off. This morning when I saw the flashing light and the time of the call, I went into "mom alert" mode. )




-- Edited on 10/7/12 2:09 PM --

------
my shield and my very great reward ~ Gen. 15:1

Image: me, about four decades ago

Changma
star
Changma  Friend of PR
Advanced Beginner
New York USA
Member since 2/20/12
Posts: 843
Send Message

      



In reply to Vintage Joan <<
thumbsup 1 member likes this.


Date: 10/7/12 2:49 PM

Glad things are ok.

Vintage Joan
star
Vintage Joan
Intermediate
Ontario Canada
Member since 7/16/07
Posts: 10782
Send Message

      



In reply to Changma <<


Date: 10/7/12 3:04 PM

Quote:
Glad things are ok.


Thanks.

------
my shield and my very great reward ~ Gen. 15:1

Image: me, about four decades ago

Plantwizard
star
Plantwizard
Intermediate
Oregon USA
Member since 2/14/03
Posts: 335
Send Message

      
thumbsup 1 member likes this.



Date: 10/7/12 6:37 PM

If your friend has a smart phone, and you have one, you might look into Viber which is a free international calling/texting app available for Iphones and Android. I don't know for sure if it works to/from Canada but it's what I use to call or text my daughter who has her semester abroad this fall in the Czech Republic.

Jan

purplebouquet
star
purplebouquet
Advanced
Arkansas USA
Member since 11/16/05
Posts: 1248
Send Message

      



Date: 10/7/12 7:51 PM

Once you find out, please post. I've always heard that calling cell phones overseas is really expensive, so I'd like to know details.

Claudia

Go to Page:
Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview

printable version Printable Version

* Advertising and soliciting is strictly prohibited on PatternReview.com. If you find a post which is not in agreement with our Terms and Conditions, please click on the Report Post button to report it. Miscellaneous >> How to dial overseas

 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

McCall's 5935

photo
by: vickyh

Review
Vogue Patterns 1228

photo
by: atymonw

Review
Runaround Bag

Runaround Bag

Buy Now
THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.