SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Forum > Quilters' Corner > How to start a stash ( Moderated by Sharon1952)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
How to start a stash
Sewncooknmom
Sewncooknmom
Advanced Beginner
Member since 6/2/12
Send Message

Date: 10/14/12 0:16 AM

I'm want to build a fabric stash for quilting. Seeing that I am brand new to quilting, I don't know where to start.

So, how do I start my stash? How much fabric to buy? Colors? I'd appreciate your ideas.

Franksdottir

Franksdottir  Friend of PR
Advanced Beginner
Member since 4/25/08
Send Message

In reply to Sewncooknmom <<
thumbsup 1 member likes this.

Date: 10/14/12 1:16 AM

Now you are asking a question about which, unlike many things, I am an expert. Now, if you wanted to know how to destash I would be unable to help you, but this? I have it taped.

Seriously, in my experience it is a lot harder not to buy beautiful fabric than it is to buy it. When my daughter was a little girl she could spot a Hoffman across the fabric store, which tells you something about how often she was in one.

What do you like? Cool colors, hot colors, mixed colors, contemporary styles, reproductions? If you don't know, then you get to do research which is really, really, really fun. Go to websites and look at the fabrics. See what you like, what you really like, what you love, what you cannot live without, and also what you don't like.

How much to buy is problematic. Since you are new to quilting, do you know what kind of quilts you want to make? Do you want to make smaller quilts for the wall, or babies, or to cover your legs while watching tv? Or do you want to make larger bed-sized quilts?