SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Forum > Sewing Machines > Help with Buying A New Machine ( Moderated by Sharon1952, EleanorSews)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
Help with Buying A New Machine
Looking Tips for Buying A Machine
Taretha
Taretha
Beginner
Member since 11/21/09
Send Message

Date: 10/31/12 6:11 PM

I have been sewing for 40+ years, the first 32+/- years on previously owned machines, which served me well. I can't remember the first manufacturer, but the 2nd machine was a White 8000.

Eight years ago, I entered the world of embroidery buying a Pfaff 2134 and was disappointed from the start, mostly with the embroidery. After 18 months of problems and months at a time without the machine, I cut my losses and purchased a Bernina 630.

I chose Bernina because I read that it had great punch power and at the time I was doing a lot of home dec sewing. The machine has been wonderful for sewing, but has been in the shop twice now for extended periods of time before it goes back to Bernina. Once again, the problems have been with embroidering. I'm beginning to see a pattern here, and my husband delicately asked one night as I was almost asleep, "Do you think it might be something you're doing?" I have to admit that I did think of that.

I have to say that in both cases, the dealer and the manufacturers were very responsive and helpful in trying to resolve the problem so I would not hesitate to buy another same brand machine.

I'm not loyal to any brand and am planning to add another machine so that I am not without a machine if/when my machine needs to be serviced.