SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Forum > Fitting Woes > Fitting New Look 6000 ( Moderated by CarolynGM, Deepika)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
Fitting New Look 6000
Pattern alteration
marleyzhipz
marleyzhipz
Member since 5/20/12
Send Message

Date: 10/31/12 9:07 PM

I'm just learning to alter patterns even though I have sewn for over 40 years. So, per Nancy Zieman, I measure size 12 from armpit to armpit. I had to add 5/8 to each side for bust enlargement and a total of 8 1/2 inches to waist and hips. When I pivoted for the first bust increase, it takes the armhole out to a larger size, defeating the purpose of using size 12 that fits me NOWHERE else. I am not sure if I should just take the width back to the original size 12 and leave the sides increased or possibly a full bust alteration would have been better in that area. I wear a D bra, but I only measure an inch or less from high bust to full bust. The waist and hip alteration worked fine.

GlButterfly

GlButterfly
Intermediate
CA USA
Member since 8/28/08
Send Message

Date: 10/31/12 11:27 PM

Don't know how much difference this will make, but aren't you supposed to measure from the crease at upper chest from one side to the other, not armpit to armpit?

------
That's Gl = for Gloria, not G. I.

marleyzhipz
marleyzhipz
Member since 5/20/12
Send Message

In reply to GlButterfly <<

Date: 10/31/12 11:38 PM

yes, you are right. I used the incorrect wording.

meleliza
star
meleliza  Friend of PR
Intermediate
PA
Member since 5/4/11
Send Message

Date: 11/1/12 0:46 AM

Despite the d cup, if you measure less than 1" between full and high bust, are you sure an fba is necessary?

------
Melanie

marleyzhipz
marleyzhipz
Member since 5/20/12
Send Message

In reply to meleliza <<

Date: 11/1/12 8:08 AM

I'm not sure what I need. I know I don't need it wider from armscye to armscye, but when I slit my muslin, it pulls apart across the bust about 1/2 in. Frustrated.

VivianZ