SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Forum > Sewing Machines > Bernina 550 QE ( Moderated by Sharon1952, EleanorSews)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
Bernina 550 QE
Feedback on 550 QE
mssarika
mssarika
Beginner
Member since 8/20/12
Send Message

Date: 11/5/12 6:22 PM

Hi All,

I am planning to buy a new machine and I am considering Bernina 550 QE. My first machine was Singer 4228 Inspiration. I sew garments , home decors , bags etc. When I tried to make a bag with bit heavy material (home decor material) my machine did not sew through several layers of fabric. And in that trial the allignment of my machine also changed. From my dealer I understood that the machine was not supposed for such sewing. So I am looking for a better sturdy machine that can handle these kinds of projects and sew anything for me and give quality stitches. I want a machine that will last for years.I studied about different brands and their machines. And I feel that Bernina 550 QE is a good option.But there are only few reviews about this machine I can find. I would like to know the goods and bads about this machine. Please help me on this.I would request the 550 QE owners to please give their valuable feedback.

Thanks for your time
Sarika

------
Happy Sewing,
Sarika

SouthernStitch
starstarstar
SouthernStitch  Friend of PR
Intermediate
LA
Member since 8/24/02
Send Message

Date: 11/5/12 6:40 PM

So, I don't own a 550, and I'm unfamiliar with your other machine. I urge you to bring the same fabric, in same configuration of layers you used when you knocked out your other machine. Make sure that what you are trying to do is able to be done on a home machine, regardless of brand. Most of us Bernina owners do brag about the strength of our machines, but there are limits.