SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Forum > Quilters' Corner > Probably a dumb question. But I'll ask anyway. ( Moderated by Sharon1952)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
Probably a dumb question. But I'll ask anyway.
Sewncooknmom
Sewncooknmom
Advanced Beginner
Member since 6/2/12
Send Message

Date: 11/15/12 10:10 PM

So, I'm new to quilting. The other day I was at JA's looking at the quilting fabrics. I saw regular woven cotton fabrics. But I also saw flannel quilting cotton. What do you use that for? I'm assuming quilts? But how?

Thanks!

Cat n Bull
star
Cat n Bull  Friend of PR
NC USA
Member since 2/17/06
Send Message

In reply to Sewncooknmom <<
thumbsup 1 member likes this.

Date: 11/15/12 10:16 PM

I use flannel in bigger pieces than I would for regular woven cotton, but that is just MY personal preference.

Flannel is SO soft and warm and makes a lovely cozy quilt!

Some do not use traditional batting with flannel, they use flannel in all 3 layers, because it is warm. I do use traditional batting, because I love a warm quilt.

Flannel SHRINKS, a LOT. So I wash it first, and if I want to make sure it's a certain finished size, wash and dry it twice.

------
Cathryn

quathy
star
quathy  Friend of PR
Intermediate
CA USA
Member since 6/3/06
Send Message

Date: 11/15/12 10:30 PM

Quilts, pillow cases, pajamas... Last year I bought a lot of JA's holiday flannel fabrics and made pillowcases to wrap gifts in. They were well received!

Definitely prewash. The flannel will shrink a great deal.

bessiemae
bessiemae
Intermediate
OH USA
Member since 4/15/06
Send Message

thumbsup 6 members like this.

Date: 11/16/12 9:21 AM

Quilter's Flannel is heavier, fluffier, and cozier when washed than the standard Super Sale Door Buster " Snuggle Flannels" sold by JA's. It does shrink, so allow extra yardage for shrinkage. I use Quilter's Flannel for jammies, pillow cases, quilt backings.