SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Forum > Pattern Modifications, Design Changes & Pattern Drafting > Help...Tools for tracing patterns?

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
Help...Tools for tracing patterns?
What do you use, recommend?
sewpelican
sewpelican  Friend of PR
Intermediate
AUSTRALIA
Member since 8/18/11
Send Message

Date: 12/5/12 9:39 AM

Although I have been sewing for many years, it's been a long time since I did much garment sewing. Now I will need to trace patterns and am wondering what tools, e.g. pens, pencil or other markers etc members currently use and find most helpful.

Thanks, look forward to learning about latest tools.

------
Joan
Sunshine Coast QLD

threaddy
star
threaddy  Friend of PR
Advanced
Wyoming USA
Member since 4/22/09
Send Message

Date: 12/5/12 9:46 AM

i'll try to link
You can find other discussions on tracing paper. Just get some and trace away...I just use a black pen and exam paper.
-- Edited on 12/5/12 9:48 AM --

------
"The problem is not that there are problems. The problem is expecting otherwise and thinking that having problems is a problem." Theodore Rubin
"Life isn't about finding yourself. Life's about creating yourself." George Bernard Shaw
Dan 9:24-27

Bernina vintage and computerized, Bernina and BL sergers , BLcoverstitch (a stray Pfaff and Viking followed me home too)

meleliza
star
meleliza  Friend of PR
Intermediate
Member since 5/4/11
Send Message

In reply to sewpelican <<

Date: 12/5/12 10:18 AM

I buy tracing paper by the roll from the art supply store. I like to use a quilters cutting mat and ruler to help line things up. I use the skinnier kind of sharpie for tracing and I use it to make notes on muslins too. (Why does the iPad always want to make muslins into Muslims?) I use colored pencils to mark alterations.

For fabric tracing I use a tracing wheel and those huge sheets of waxed tracing paper. I use the quilting type rulers for straight edges too.

------