|
|
Message Board > Sewing Machines > Heads up (aka Buyer please beware!) on ebay B830E ( Moderated by Sharon1952, EleanorSews)
LynnRowe

 Advanced BC CANADA Member since 3/9/09 Posts: 6762 |
Login to reply to this post
 1 member likes this. Date: 12/5/12 9:41 PM Recently there was a very rare Singer Featherweight for auction on ebay; the photos had been stolen from one of our own member's legit auction. The "seller" had 0 feedback, had the price listed in GBP, but location as, IIRC, Ozark, AL.
Currently there is a listing for a Bernina 830E on ebay; same use of GBP, same seller location, same 0 feedback.
This may be someone different and totally legit...but it may not. If I'm maligning the seller, my apologies.
------ I heart Panzy, Pfaff Creative Performance, the sewing machine love of my life! And Rupert (Pfaff 2023), Baby (BL Enlighten), Victor (BLCS), Ash (Bernina 350SE), Pal (Bernina 530), Kee (Bernina 750) and the Featherteen Flock!
Most of all, I heart Woo (HimmyCat). Until we meet again, my beautiful little boy. I love you. |
LynnRowe

 Advanced BC CANADA Member since 3/9/09 Posts: 6762 |
Login to reply to this post
 1 member likes this.
Date: 12/5/12 10:33 PM Just received confirmation; this is the same seller who stole the Featherweight photos and had their auction pulled by ebay.
------ I heart Panzy, Pfaff Creative Performance, the sewing machine love of my life! And Rupert (Pfaff 2023), Baby (BL Enlighten), Victor (BLCS), Ash (Bernina 350SE), Pal (Bernina 530), Kee (Bernina 750) and the Featherteen Flock!
Most of all, I heart Woo (HimmyCat). Until we meet again, my beautiful little boy. I love you. |
Maia B
 Advanced Beginner IL USA Member since 10/27/10 Posts: 3391 |
Login to reply to this post
 1 member likes this. Date: 12/5/12 10:37 PM Yeah, this listing reeked of scam. Thanks for warning everyone.
Wonder why they do that GBP thing? ------ 🌸 Plenty of machines, mostly Berninas 🌸 |
karen149
 Intermediate CA USA Member since 3/4/05 Posts: 2511 |
Login to reply to this post
 1 member likes this. Date: 12/5/12 10:43 PM Did you report it through eBay? They've removed anything I've reported as a scam pretty quick. |
LynnRowe

 Advanced BC CANADA Member since 3/9/09 Posts: 6762 |
Login to reply to this post
 1 member likes this.
Date: 12/5/12 10:51 PM I did, but they don't give much in the way of options, and I wasn't able to reference this listing to the fraudulant FW listing.  ------ I heart Panzy, Pfaff Creative Performance, the sewing machine love of my life! And Rupert (Pfaff 2023), Baby (BL Enlighten), Victor (BLCS), Ash (Bernina 350SE), Pal (Bernina 530), Kee (Bernina 750) and the Featherteen Flock!
Most of all, I heart Woo (HimmyCat). Until we meet again, my beautiful little boy. I love you. |
MizLiz
 Member since 11/28/06 Posts: 18 |
Login to reply to this post
 1 member likes this. Date: 12/6/12 10:11 AM Thanks so much ! It is great to know people warn us about such scams etc. I, for one, appreciate it. |
Marcia R
 Expert/Couture CA USA Member since 4/16/09 Posts: 27 |
Login to reply to this post
 1 member likes this. Date: 12/6/12 10:44 AM Lynne,
Thanks for the warning. I am looking for a FW. Can you reference the member site so I can check in a place that isn't trying to rip people off.
Thank you, |
annenet
 Advanced VA USA Member since 8/2/03 Posts: 1012 |
Login to reply to this post
 1 member likes this. Date: 12/6/12 11:09 AM Wow, the 830E is listed as "sold". I hope that person didn't get scammed! ------ So many projects, not enough time
At my house in VA:
Bernina 1010, Activa 220, Artista 630E, B580
Singer 201-2, 221, Bernina Serger 1100D, 1300MDC
Consew 75T
At my Lake House in PA:
Bernina Artista 165E, Singer 503A
http://sewingtechie.blogspot.com/ |
NottaWadder
 Advanced Beginner Member since 6/17/12 Posts: 377 |
Login to reply to this post
Date: 12/6/12 11:33 AM Quote: annenet Wow, the 830E is listed as "sold". I hope that person didn't get scammed! It is very difficult to get scammed by anyone on ebay if you use paypal. Both ebay and paypal pretty much guarantee a buyer their money back, sometimes even if there is no problem. Lots of buyers are getting things for free on ebay that way, and leaving a legitimate seller out the money and the item. Scams go both ways but ebay will always protect the buyer.
So, if someone did send them the money for this machine and they do not get it, you can bet they will not be out the money, unless they did something stupid like send a check or cash.
It's really too bad though that there are people doing this on ebay and making it really hard for the honest sellers.
Oh yes, this seller did steal the pictures from someone else, Here That should make it easier to report, but probably too late now that the listing has ended, IDK.------ My Singer crew:
Sergei - Serger 14T968DC (set up as coverstitch)
Stella - Serger Stylist II 14J250 (set up as main overlock)
Quincy - Quantum 9960 (my main SM)
Newest addition: Stevie, my very first Featherweight! (221 Centennial) |
kittykate
Intermediate ON CANADA Member since 12/18/02 Posts: 1049 |
Login to reply to this post
Date: 12/6/12 12:16 PM It's a very nice money laundering scheme if I put on my suspicious hat. |
Printable Version* Advertising and soliciting is strictly prohibited on PatternReview.com. If you find a post which is not in agreement with our Terms and Conditions, please click on the Report Post button to report it. Sewing Machines >> Heads up (aka Buyer please beware!) on ebay B830E Copyright © 2013 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved. Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
|
|