SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Forum > Fitting Woes > Adjustments lead to screwed up armscye ( Moderated by CarolynGM, Deepika)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
Adjustments lead to screwed up armscye
lost my seam allowances
Cecropia
Cecropia
Beginner
Member since 2/20/07
Send Message

Date: 2/20/13 12:45 PM

I'm new to tissue fitting/making muslins... Help please!!

I am working on the bodice of Simplicity dress 1797, view A, with a bias finished neckline. So far on the tissue I have made adjustments for narrow back, short waist, forward head/shoulder, small bust (as per FFRP).

The front of the muslin was too wide (gaping neck, princess seam far outside of bustline) which seemed odd because when I have the tissue on, it seems to perfectly meet my center front. I recently picked up Perfect Fitting from the library, and I tried pinching out fullness as the fabric "guides" me. Thing is, when I pinch out 3/4" from the center front widening to 1 3/4 at the neckline, the princess seams line up much better with my bustline and the gaping neckline is fixed (I widened the front side seams an equal amt). However, the armscye is pulled in far too much. In fact, the armscye needs widening on both the front and the back (was I wrong in thinking I have a narrow back? The center back of the tissue went past mine by nearly 1/2").

My question is, am I setting myself up for disaster by messing with the center front? Is a total armscye adjustment incredibly complicated? This is not something I'm seeing addressed in either book, which makes me think I'm way out in left field. Plus I don't have much guidance on improvising the armscye adjustment. I understand that I may need to redraft the sleeve...

I tried to put up some pictures to show the problem.