SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Forum > Quilters' Corner > Questions on Quilting from a Beginner ( Moderated by Sharon1952)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
Questions on Quilting from a Beginner
Deciding how to 'quilt' the finished piece...
Steffie
starstar
Steffie
Intermediate
Michigan USA
Member since 11/6/04
Send Message

Date: 3/6/13 8:54 AM

I am a beginner quilter. I have two projects nearly complete (need binding and I am afraid I will ruin them when I bind them). In both cases, the projects were simple and I did quilting by stitching in the ditch.

Last week I ordered a table runner project kit from Connecting Threads. First, I didn't realize that the backing fabric was not included in a Kit especially something so small (pays to read). Next, I really liked the quilting design itself. The kit I purchased is the Morning Glory Runner. While you cannot see the quilting pattern online, in the catalog you can see that there is a floral quilting pattern over the yellow that matches with the 'Morning Glory' title.

The pattern/kit does not include the quilting design. I contacted the author of the pattern and she responded that she only provides the pattern for the piecing. I contacted Connecting Threads and they indicated that their independent quilters who make up projects for the catalog use proprietary designs and they are not available. :(

How do more experienced quilters go about deciding on a quilting pattern for a project?

Thanks!!

HDWen
star
HDWen  Friend of PR
Advanced Beginner
Arizona USA
Member since 12/26/11
Send Message

thumbsup 1 member likes this.

Date: 3/6/13 9:18 AM

Welcome Steffie!!

Ok on binding when I began I would cut 2 1/2" or 3" wide binding strips - gives you room to sew on without being too close. This is one of the BEST binding tutorials (in my opinion as a newbie)...

6 Easy Steps to Binding

Hope that helps!