SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Forum > Fitting Woes > Fitting a full bust and proportional hips ( Moderated by CarolynGM, Deepika)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
Fitting a full bust and proportional hips
thefunimalist
thefunimalist
Member since 3/10/13
Send Message

Date: 3/10/13 6:49 PM

Hi everyone, this is my first post on Pattern Review. I'm a beginner at sewing clothes. I've successfully sewn a skirt and drawstring shorts, but I can't figure out how to fit tops for my body. My bust, waist, and hip measurements fit into the same size on most size charts, but I have a large bust and definitely need to make alterations. I'd greatly appreciate some fitting advice!

My measurements are below. I'm interested in making the Colette Sorbetto and Sewaholic Renfrew tops, so I'm putting my size in those patterns in parentheses.

Overbust: 35 (Colette 4, Sewaholic 8, going by full bust measurements)
Bust: 38.5 (Colette 10, Sewaholic 14; my bra size is 30GG, I have a very narrow back)
Waist: 30 (Colette 10, Sewaholic 10, my waist looks narrow from the front but my belly sticks out a lot viewed from the side)
Hip: 42 (Colette 12, Sewaholic 10)

I'm not sure what the best strategy is to fit these tops. I made a test version of the Sorbetto in a size 10 without any alterations. There was a lot of gaping at the armholes, so I took the excess out with a dart and then the shoulders fit ok, although they could be a bit narrower. Everything looked good from the front, but the size seams didn't hang straight because there was too much room in the back and not enough in the front at bust level. There was some excess length at the back too, creating a sort of bulge at the upper back.