SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Forum > Beginner's Forum > Beginner on sleeves ( Moderated by EleanorSews)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
Beginner on sleeves
Putting in a sleeve
Robinwild
Robinwild
Member since 3/4/12
Send Message

Date: 3/12/13 10:55 AM

I am new to sewing and I am making a pair of pyjamas for my son. I am using Simplicity 8860. It is a pattern from the 1960's I think. I am having troubles with the short sleeves. This is what the pattern says, "With RIGHT sides together, pin sleeve to armhole, placing center small dot at shoulder seam, matching remaining small dots. Pull up machine-stitching to fit. Baste, easting in fulness. Stitch. Press seam toward top, shrinking out fulness. Make flat-fell seam"
SO I had no clue how to do this or what it meant. I looked in a sewing book and it talked about making two rows of loose stitching, then pulling the threads to bunch it up a bit, then sewing it. Well, I tried that, and it was so bunched to get it to fit, there was no way I could sew it without having gathers and puckers.....it literally looks like a girl's puffed sleeve!! I am sure my 12 year old is not going to appreciate that! Please, can anyone help me? There is no one I know who sews......

Nancy K
starstarstar
Nancy K
Advanced
NY USA
Member since 12/28/04
Send Message

In reply to Robinwild <<
thumbsup 1 member likes this.

Date: 3/12/13 2:22 PM

You shouldn't have to ease much for a pajama sleeve. Take a tape measure and measure both the armscye(armhole) and the sleeve cap. How much bigger is the sleeve cap than the armscye? That's the amount you'll need to ease. You are pulling too much up. Did it actually fit in the armscye? If so, move the sleeve up higher so that there is less ease. I mean that the seamline on the sleeve only becomes lower into the sleeve.

------
www.nancyksews.blogspot.com

Ms. McCall
star
Ms. McCall  Friend of PR
Advanced Beginner
CA
Member since 3/2/06
Send Message