SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Forum > Plus Size Sewing > Dresses for biiig legs!! ( Moderated by JEF)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
Dresses for biiig legs!!
Hoping for miracle....
Aless
star
Aless
Advanced
AUSTRALIA
Member since 11/29/02
Send Message

Date: 4/20/13 2:40 AM

I've been pondering this problem ever since dresses came back into vogue, but it only just occurred to me to ask here....

I am a Big4 size 20/22 top and 24 bottom but look fairly proportioned. BUT, my legs are (to put it gently) quite hefty, unlike many larger women who have lovely legs. I have been wearing pants/jeans almost exclusively for the last 20 years, but would love, at my age (retired!), to make some nice dresses/skirts for next summer (though just now going into winter here in southern Australia), and maybe something suitable for this winter(worn with dark tights probably). I like to dress fashionably as I look a bit younger than I am (plus, we don't dress like our mothers used to anymore anyway!!).

So, I am asking if anyone here has experience/photos of themselves in dresses/skirts/jumpers(USA terminology) when they have the same problem as me.....big/strong calves and wide ankles(but I'm not yet at 'cankle' size). I am able to wear combat style boots(love mine) because they lace and so I can adjust fit easily, but I'd have trouble wearing knee high fashion boots (I need circulation in my feet). I hope this gives you some idea of what I'm looking for. I would truly appreciate each and any answers.

------

Aless(Adelaide,South Australia)

You will do foolish things, but do them with enthusiasm.- Colette

StitchWench
StitchWench
Beginner
AUSTRALIA
Member since 2/17/06
Send Message

Date: 4/20/13 6:48 AM

Hello Aless
I'm in TAS and am partial to the 'lagenlook' (layered look). Check out here:
idaretobe.com tunics and idaretobe.com skirts